First Presbyterian Church is governed by a session, which is comprised of ruling elders elected and installed by the congregation and pastors. The role of the session is to “govern the congregation and guide its witness to the sovereign activity of God in the world, so that the congregation is and becomes a community of faith, hope, love, and witness.”

The session is made up of three classes, with members serving three year terms. The current members of session are:

Joanne Bartsch, Eva Greene, Margaret Black, Pat Harr, Wayne Drummond, Keith Love, Beth Cummings, Jansen McCreary, Paul Vliek, Chris Hess, Dawn Carlton, Scott Kessler, Hubert Williams, Joan Murchison, Grant Moss, Ross Sloan, Siler Sloan, Michele Simmons, Esther Pardue (Clerk of Session)